Become a Member

AVEY Hall of Fame

AVEY Hall of Fame 2019-11-10T07:01:23-06:00

Since 2011, Austin Voices has been recognizing education advocates at its annual “Stand Up for Schools” luncheon, as well as parent and student mobilizers. These are the often unsung heroes who work tirelessly in our community to make sure that great public schools are maintained as a right, not a privilege, for all children in our community.

Hall of Fame Winners

Amy Averett, Founder, Austin Voices for Education and Youth

Gina Hinojosa, Texas State Representative and former Austin ISD Board President

Michael Lofton, Founder and ED, African-American Youth Harvest Foundation

Pastor Charles Foster Johnson and Charles Luke, Founders, Pastors for Texas Children

Merv Griffin, former Director, Virginia Brown Recreation Center in the St. John Community